What Do You Share?

So in the last week we have been talking about what makes something shareable or go viral.  Each article or reading has hinted at different things that contribute to some sort of media making headlines and being the next big thing.  In the introduction about Spreadable Media, the authors Henry Jenkins, Sam Ford and Joshua Green talk mainly about three different types of sharing, Stickiness, Spreadability, and Viral.  Were most of the sharing is done with Spreadability and Viral.  Next Maria Konnikova discusses 6 points that many big stories consist of in her article The Six Things That Make Stories Go Viral Will Amaze, And Maybe Infuriate, You.  Those 6 points are emotion, arousal, social currency, memory inducing, practical value, and quality of story.  These points must be pretty accurate because I found,

” Jonah gives the high-level of each principle, which is called the STEPPS framework. These 6 principles drive people to talk and share.”

  1. Social currency
  2. Triggers
  3. Emotion
  4. Public
  5. Practical value
  6. Stories

in Social Media Examiner.

Now we already discussed these topics in class, but if you truly think about it and go through your postings, it is surprising to see the stuff you Retweet or share usually consist of multiple of these points.  Also, in Konnikova article, she says that, “If an article made readers extremely angry or highly anxious—stories about a political scandal or new risk factor for cancer, for example—they became just as likely to share it as they would a feel-good story about a cuddly panda.”  Now I can see how this is possible in today’s society, because,” Some men just want to watch the world burn” (The Dark Night).  Though, what I really want to know is, what do you share?  

I personally enjoy sharing media that excites me, or really motivates me.  I think by sharing these types of articles or videos to others, it will in turn excite and motivate the people close to you.  One video that really shocked, surprised, amazed, and totally inspired me was Ross Capicchinoni video. Before you watch the video realize that it may make you cry and may be hard to watch.  To me at least it is videos like this that really touch and move the viewer.  Another video that really motivated and inspired me was How Bad Do You Want It?.  I think the reason that I share these kinds of videos is because I want others to feel the same excitement, inspiration, motivation, and desire that I felt when I watched it.  I want others to get that same experience I had when I watched the video.  That is why I share. What’s your reason?

5 thoughts on “What Do You Share?

  1. Watching and reading media that influences me enough to make me actually feel something is a rare occurrence. I scroll and see a cat or positive headline and I’ll smile, but rarely will something make me feel. I agree that sharing these experiences is important, it helps make expressing feelings easier and makes you feel like you are helping others by providing them a similar experience.

    Like

  2. Ever since starting Rose-Hulman, my media sharing has gone by the way-side. In high school, the majority of my sharing definitely consisted of media that was exciting to me personally. Looking back at some of those same re-shares and posts, it is amazing to see how many points made by Konnikova were hit. I never truly thought about what it took to make something popular, but at the same time, I think that if you are sharing, most likely you are thinking about what it is you are posting and how will others see the post. I also think one of the other bigger reasons I would share something was because of the social currency aspect. I wanted others to know that I was in “the know”.

    Like

  3. I don’t really share many articles or videos because I don’t really feel too strongly about them and I usually don’t think my friends would feel the same about them. I also think that someone might find the shared content to be annoying like I usually do with other shared content so there’s that too.

    Like

    1. I have to disagree with that. There is media out there that is truly fascinating that many people. And from what my friends have to say they usually enjoy the things that I share. I think possibly you could try searching in others locations… I would find it hard for someone to tell me that the two videos I linked didn’t move them at all or share no feeling on them. If you have time, you should try watching them. @Redd500

      Like

      1. It’s mostly that I don’t feel super emotional about things I see on the Internet. Usually I’ll watch and think it’s cool, inspirational, interesting, etc. but not feel too strongly about it. As far as I can tell, that’s mostly my problem.

        Like

Leave a Reply

